Skip to content

Ambers fitness log

Just a girl and her workouts!

image

Today was just a fool around day in the gym, a little active recovery if you will. I started out with a nice treadmill walk and did some serious stretching! I weighed in at 107.4. Then I worked on my squat form. From now on in my 5/3/1 program I am just going to do a box squat just to the correct depth. I did 3 sets of 5 with 45lbs and really worked on form and spreading the floor apart with my knees. Only time will tell if it will help my squat! I am going to change my training days around to the following: mon- military press, tues-deadlift, thur-bench and fri-squat with other days either conditioning or rest days. Last night for dinner we had homemade bbq pulled pork and roasted okra (pictured) and tonight we are having bbq chicken and steamed asparagus.

Homemade pulled pork:

6lb boston butt and 2 McCormick slow cooker pulled pork seasonings (including apple cider vinegar, splenda brown sugar and ketchup). Cooked in slow cooker for approx 6 hours on high. We use hunts “no high fructose corn syrup” ketchup.

Oven roasted okra:

1lb whole fresh okra, olive oil, seasoning- preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray cookie sheet with oil then lay out okra in one layer then spray okra with olive and season to taste. I usually use sea salt or costco’s no salt seasoning. Cook until okra starts to brown become crispy. Better than fried!

